Recreational Cannabis in Michigan

Recreational Cannabis in Michigan

Recreational Cannabis in Michigan

Michigan officially started recreational marijuana sales on December 1, 2019. On its first day of recreational cannabis purchases, Michigan generated $221,000 in sales. It took 13 months to open the doors after recreational cannabis became legal in Michigan. Michigan already has a pretty comprehensive medical program, but as the first state in the Midwest with recreational sales, the public is very interested to see how this program will pan out.

Legalize Recreational Cannabis Michigan

Since Michigan started accepting applications on November 1, it has awarded 18 licenses while 63 other business applications have pre-qualified and are under inspection. While it is an exciting time for marijuana in Michigan, many communities have decided to prohibit recreational cannabis supplies businesses from opening shop. Out of Michigans 1,771, at least 1,380 have opted out of allowing marijuana businesses to set up shop.

In an interview with Detroit Free Press, Robin Schneider, Executive Director of the Michigan Cannabis Industry Association said, “When we were drafting the ballot initiative, we went with the local opt-out language because it was very clear to us that the voters were very supportive of ending prohibition of marijuana, but not all voters were ready to embrace marijuana commerce in their communities.”

Michigan’s Medical Marijuana Program

Michigan’s Medical Marihuana Program (MMMP) was enacted in 2008. It allows patients to possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis and cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants on their property. Recreationally licensed medical dispensaries are permitted to transfer half of their inventory to the recreational market if it has been obtained within 30 days. Qualifying Conditions under MMMP include but aren’t limited to:

  • Arthritis
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Glaucoma
  • Inflammatory Bowel Disease
  • Nausea
  • Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizures

Michigan’s Cannabis Laws

Under Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA), consumers about the age of 21 can:

  • Purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis
  • Purchase up to 15 grams of concentrate
  • Have up to 10 ounces of cannabis on their property
  • Grow up to 12 plants for personal use

What is a Microbusiness?

A microbusiness is an operation that is permitted to grow up to 150 plants and process, package, and sell from its yields. A microbusiness license application is significantly cheaper than a dispensary license at only $6,000. Microbusinesses have many business opportunities available to them as well. With the microbusiness license, you could open a cannabis-themed arcade, restaurant, or even your own movie theater with your cannabis products available for purchase right next to the snack bar.

Remain Compliant in Michigan

With the highly anticipated expansion of cannabis business opportunities, it’s important for businesses to remain compliant in everything from security to employment to packaging. The Vial Store offers a variety of bulk options in Smell Proof Bags, Pre-Roll Tubes, and Philips Pop Top Bottles in a variety of colors. Before checking out make sure to add Michigan compliant packaging and THC labels to your shopping cart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *